The Great Gatsby

Posted on Updated on

The Great Gatsby, well starting off with the name itself. It wasn’t supposed to be the
name of the book, The Great Gatsby but Under the red, white and blue, suggested by Fitzgerald, shortly before the novel was due to be published, but It was too late and the work was published by Scribner (Fitz agent) as The Great Gatsby. Well wherever you’ll hear the name of this book, it would be regarded as a “classic” and “everyone loves classic” don’t they, no doubt in that, of course. And you ought to read classic once in a lifetime. But I think the classics should be left unread because only then they stay as a “respected book” under one’s eye. Once you read classics, you’ll start having different thoughts about em.a

It’s not that I was completely uninterested. Neither was it so great that it compelled me to keep turning the page. Neither that great neither that bad. It was a “just fine” time burning piece. On the surface, The Great Gatsby is a story of the thwarted love between a man and a woman. The main theme of the novel, however, encompasses a much larger, less romantic scope. It is considered as a romantic type of novel but snap out of the bubble coz it’s not even a tiny bit of romantic. Well if I rate this book, I’ll rate it 3 stars out of 5. Why 3? Because I love the way Fitzgerald use the selection of words. That way Is really unique. And also I like this name Fitzgerald. I think this book is highly overrated. Moreover, it wasn’t a success when It was first published and I think it is far from “the Great American Novel”

One thing I really liked in this book is the mysterious eyes of T.J Eckleburg. Staring atabc those eyes really put me in deep thoughts personally. Well from top of mind I think these eyes symbolizes decayed social and moral values, evidenced in its overarching cynicism, greed, and empty pursuit of pleasure, loss, scars and extreme tragedy in World War. These owl-eyes are well placed in the novel alongside the Ashes of the Ashes. I personally feel, these eyes also show some kind of deep sadness far from our thinking and judgement.

The characters were really… I mean they don’t really know what they are doing. They are confusing in some matter. Just like the narrator Nick, he just wants to be liked so much and wanna avoid trouble and want to have a great career but all he did was to hangout with Tom, Jay, Jordan and most of the time his thoughts are occupied with what’s Jay doing standing on his terrace. Duh-dude focus on your career, your father will not support you more than a month and who’ll pay $80 for your home. And also Mr. Wilson, God he really became a phsyco in the ending. I think Fitzgerald (I’m using this word so much, but I love the sound of it from my lips) made him a maniac just to kill Jay (psst spoiler alert). The worst ending but praise to the start of this book, really put me in thoughts as I read the fourth line. Awesome. All in all, the characters were not clearly defined which stops you from continuing reading but after all it’s a “classic” and you should read classics and add it to your reading list. Lol

It’s not that I didn’t like anything from this book. I loved how the weather changes as the mode of the writing changed. It completely changes the mood of the reader too. The scenes are perfectly illustrating. I LOVED some of the quotes:

~ “The loneliest moment in someone’s life is when they are watching their whole world fall apart, and all they can do is stare blankly.”

~ “Angry, and half in love with her, and tremendously sorry, I turned away.

~ “I wasn’t actually in love, but I felt a sort of tender curiosity.”

~ “Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone, just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you have had”

~ “It’s perfect from your irresistible perfect imagination.”

 

In summation, there was one thing I really liked about The Great Gatsby:

“It was Short”

P. s: Thank God

Leave a Reply

