The Perks of being a Wallflower

Posted on

emma-watson-on-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-set

Dear Friends,

In this society, if you didn’t like Game of Thrones, you’ll be considered as a person with no tastes of tv shows at all. Similarly, I didn’t like The Perks of being a Wallflower. I’m not saying I don’t like GOT all I’m saying is, The Perks of being a Wallflower is totally overrated. I really liked the title and I heard a lot about this book. I also agree that It was a true page turner but there was no story in it. I just wanted to finish it for the sake of finishing it. Good books are those books which you want to finish but you also don’t want to finish. If you know what I mean.

This whole book was nothing more than just a bunch of letters which Charlie wrote about his routine life to a “Friend”. I get that Charlie is an introvert and doesn’t like social gathering but he wants to participate in the gathering but he has no friends but he wants to have friends but he can’t talk much with real people but he talks shit load of things in his mind but still he’s a shy person and also he had a terrible and tragic childhood. I get it but whats the purpose of writing this book if it can’t help a person to change the perspective of his/her life. There was nothing remarkable in it. I was really excited about reading it at first but as I start reading my excitement vanished. In fact, I bought this book from the bookstore more than its worth. I really hoped it would be something and it really was something, if you know what I mean.

The writing was lame, cliché (and I can’t search more synonyms for cliché otherwise I must’ve used it) The whole book was boring-letter-kinda thing. Now I really think that the life of a teenage American boy is really boring. The patheticity of the main character Charlie made this book more pathetic. I don’t know why everyone really like this book. I think I must have missed something behind the story of Charlie but I really believe there was nothing to miss as it had nothing worthy in it.

Last but not the least, I really couldn’t understand who the hell is that “Friend” to whom Charlie wrote all those letters of which the book Is filled with. First I thought it was his dead friend, Michael but it wasn’t. Then I thought it would be Sam but it wasn’t. Then I thought it would be Charlie himself, that he’ll read all those letters when he’ll be old but he wasn’t. Then I thought all those letters would be for his future children or grand but it wasn’t and after that I stopped myself from figuring out who the hell was that “Friend”

I really hope you like this book, I really do cuz I really didn’t.  and someone ought to like this book if we want to see the society in equilibrium, avoiding chaos. Until next time

Love always,
Ravian719

Leave a Reply

