I Know

Posted on

flat1000x1000075f

You walked into the room
and stole my heart.
Those freckled cheeks
those round glasses
those black hairs;
when fall on your face
casts a spell on me
when illuminated by the golden rays.
You take a strand of your hair
with your index finger, and
stroke it behind your ear, and
that becomes a moment of joy forever.

Sitting in the library… crying
whilst reading your favorite book.
You thought nobody saw you… hiding
but I saw melancholy in your eyes
I saw everything.
I wish I could come and
dry your tears
kiss those quivering lips.
But, I’m just too shy
I don’t know why. . . .

It breaks my heart
to see you with him
hand in hand
taking long walks.
I just wish I could be him.
I wish I could come up and
tell you how I feel.
But I’m just too shy, and
I don’t know why. . . .

I’ve talked to you
inside my head
a thousand times over
of all the things I’d say
of all the things I’d do.
I don’t know whether I’ll ever build the courage
to tell you what I fell
. . .

So, I wrote this poem
hoping that one day
you’d stumble across these words
and learn that
of all the people you know
I loved you the most.

I fell in love with you
the moment you walked in to the room
but you never knew
how much I loved you.
Oh Ash. . .
I just wish you’d know.
How could you know
I was just too shy, and
I don’t even know why. . . .

But that’s not how this poem really ends, my love
As I just wrote this final verse, and
looked towards you for the last time
with the look of goodbye.
I froze when I saw you
from the corner of the room
staring back at me… smiling

Everything fell into slow motion
when you walked towards me
put your hand on my shoulder
leaned in to put your lips near my ear
just enough
to feel your warm breath on my neck
hoping this moment would last forever
when you silently kissed my neck
and whispered
“I know. . . .

2 thoughts on “I Know

    Thoughts in Life said:
    December 18, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    Wow! This was beautiful…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

